Bryant Golf to Play in Southland Conference

The Bryant University golf team (men’s and women’s) is one of the four sports programs that will compete in the Southland Conference this season and going forward. 

The rest of the programs, other than football, will compete in the America East Conference. 

“We are very excited to be joining the Southland Conference. This high-quality competition will ignite the best in our student-athletes. We look forward to this new challenge. It’s a great day to be a Bulldog,” said Bryant men’s golf head coach Charlie Blanchard. 

The Bryant men’s golf team has won 22 conference championships and qualifying for 33 NCAA Tournaments at the DII and DI level. The Bulldogs won NEC Championships in 2014 and 2017, and have finished in the top two at the league championships in five of the last eight years.

“Bryant University is honored to be affiliate members of the Southland Conference and thrilled that four of our teams will have the opportunity to compete for a championship as members of this prestigious conference. I would like to thank Commissioner Grant for providing a new home for our Bulldog men’s and women’s golf and men’s and women’s tennis teams,” said Bryant Director of Athletics Bill Smith. 

Bryant’s women’s golf program will be debuting as a varsity sport this fall at Bryant.

Southland Conference 

Full members of the Southland Conference include Houston Baptist University, McNeese State University, University of New Orleans, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, Texas A&M University-Commerce and Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi. 

Affiliate members include Augusta University (Men’s and Women’s Golf), Delaware State University (Women’s Golf), Francis Marion University (Men’s Golf), University of Maryland Eastern Shore (Women’s Golf) and New Jersey Institute of Technology (Men’s and Women’s Tennis). 

Leave a Reply