Hendricken Invitational Welcomes Top Teams in State

Seven of the top high school golf teams in Rhode Island will descend on Warwick Country Club on Tuesday afternoon for the Bishop Hendricken Invitational. 

Those teams include Hendricken, La Salle, Wheeler, Prout, St. George’s, South Kingstown and Moses Brown. 

“For us, it is good to continue to grind against good competition right up until the State Championship. We went up against some of the players on Saturday in the McCambell Cup and we will get back at it Tuesday,” said Hendricken coach Rick Angeli. 

PHOTO: Hendricken Golf

While regular high school matches are nine holes, the Hendricken Invitational is an 18 hole contest. 

“Nine hole matches are great, but they don’t prepare you for the State Championship, which is 36 holes,” Angeli said. 

The Hendricken Invitational is a 2:30 p.m. shotgun start. 


In their last outing, Hendricken was led by seniors Ricky Angeli and Harry Grimes at the McCambell Cup. They posted 78 and 81 respectively, while Andrew Chadwick and Sonny Massotti posted an 82. 

La Salle

The Rams have been led this season by star freshman Max Jackson. 

Jackson fired a 76 at the McCambell Cup and was the highest finishing Rhode Islander in the field. 

Moses Brown

Moses Brown hit the course on Monday and scored a dominating win over North Providence. 

The Quakers were led by Harry Dessel, who shot a 37, while Kylie Eaton and Connor McNulty posted a pair of 39s. 

Eaton won the women’s division at the McCambell Cup on Saturday. 


The Wheeler Warriors are in the midst of a rebuilding year, but have managed to be competitive in just about every match. 

Wheeler has been led by Ben Sapovitz, Eric Tang and Mitchell LaCamera. 

South Kingstown

South Kingstown has been led by senior Zachary Redmond, the only senior on the team. 

They also have a plethora of juniors, including James Banks, Mason Spadaro, Alexander Riley, Tristan Robbins and others. 


Emily Trainor has led Prout as the only senior on the team. 

She has been helped out by Jack Ayers, DJ Bruno, Chris Pimentel and Billy Costello. 

Leave a Reply