PGA of America Elects Richerson President

The PGA of America has announced that member Jim Richerson has been elected as the organization’s 42nd President. 

He succeeds Suzy Whaley, who completed her two-year term as president. 

Jim Richerson PHOTO: PGA of America

“Together with the Officers and Executive Directors from all 41 PGA Sections, we are committed to providing resources to help elevate and advance PGA Members throughout the country, while continuing to grow the game,” said Richerson. 

The election was held on Thursday during the Association’s 104th Annual Meeting, which was held virtually for the first time ever due to the coronavirus pandemic. 

About Richerson 

Richerson, of Scottsdale, Arizona, is Senior Vice President of Operations for Troon, and a member of the Southwest PGA Section. He succeeds Suzy Whaley, who completed her two-year term as president and is now PGA Honorary President. Succeeding Richerson as Vice President is John Lindert, PGA, of Grand Ledge, Michigan. Don Rea, PGA, of Gilbert, Arizona, was elected as the new PGA Secretary.

He is part of a team that is responsible for helping oversee the day-to-day management of Troon’s expanding portfolio, serving 35+ locations and 470+ golf courses, with properties located in more than 40 states and 30 countries.

Previously, Richerson was elected as PGA Vice President in 2018. When Richerson was elected PGA Secretary as a member of the Wisconsin PGA Section in 2016, he became the first Wisconsin PGA Member to be elected as a National Officer of the Association.

A member of the PGA Board of Directors from 2013-15, representing District 6, Richerson also served on the Wisconsin PGA Section as an Officer and Board Member. In addition, he was chair of the Wisconsin Education Committee and a Board Member of the Wisconsin State Golf Association. 

During his term as District 6 Director, Richerson served as chair of the National Properties Committee, as a member of the National Budget and National Investment Committees, and continues as a Advisory Board member. 

He was the recipient of the 2013 and 2016 Wisconsin PGA Golf Professional of the Year Award, the Section’s 2011 Professional Development Award* and the 2012 Bill Strausbaugh Award.

Leave a Reply