Thomas Named PGA Player of Year

Justin Thomas has been named PGA Player of the Year on Tuesday, finishing 10 points ahead of Jon Rahm. 

This is the second time that Thomas has won the award. 

Thomas getting the award comes as somewhat of a surprise given the run that Dustin Johnson has been on. 

Johnson finished in a tie for 2nd at the PGA Championship and then won two of the last three events of the season, including the FedEx Cup. 

The only other event he didn’t win in that stretch, he finished second to Rahm. 

As you will see below, Johnson finished fifth in the standings. 

Final Standings 

The award is determined using a points system that includes points for wins, money list position and scoring average. 

  • Justin Thomas — 66 points 
  • Jon Rahm — 56
  • Collin Morikawa — 54 
  • Webb Simpson — 52
  • Dustin Johnson — 42

Leave a Reply