What to Know About the RI Amateur

It is here, The 115th Rhode Island Amateur is just a day away and GolfNewsRI has put together a list of everything that you need to know. 

GolfNewsRI plans to be at the tournament on each day to provide coverage. 

PHOTO: Chris Urbanowicz

Here is What You Need to Know:

About Pawtucket Country Club 

Pawtucket Country Club was founded in 1902 and was designed by Willie Park Jr. in 1924. 

The par of the course is 69 and spans over 6,500 yards. 

Pawtucket last hosted the RI Amateur in 2002 when Charlie Blanchard cruised past Paul Quigley 8&7. 

Earlier this summer, Pawtucket was arguably the hardest hit golf course with the restrictions as most of it is located in Massachusetts. 


The tournament opens with two days of 18-hole stroke play on July 13 and 14. 

Out of that, the top 32 players will make it to match play, which starts on Wednesday. 

The 36-hole championship match will take place on Saturday. 

Tee Times 

PHOTO: Chris Urbanowicz

Tee times are set to begin at 7:30 a.m. each day.

Defending Champion 

The defending champion is Notre Dame golf star Andrew O’Leary, who beat Bobby Leopold 3&1 last year at Shelter Harbor. 

A few weeks ago, O’Leary teamed with former RI Amateur Champion Davis Chatfield to win the RI Four-Ball Championship. 

This week, O’Leary will see to become the 13th player to win back-to-back Amateur Championships. 

He will also seek to become the first player since Mike Soucy in 2001 to win the RI Amateur on his home course. 

Past Champs in Field: 

The 2020 field is loaded with past champions. 

According to the Rhode Island Golf Association (RIGA), the past champions in the field are as follows: 

Paul Quigley of Green Valley Country Club (1986-87, 1991); Dr. George Pirie of Valley Country Club (1989, 1994, 2004); Mike Soucy of Valley (1999, 2001, 2003); Ben Tuthill of Wannamoisett (2000); Tom McCormick of Kirkbrae Country Club (2005); Brad Valois of Kings Crossing (2006-07, 2011, 2013); Bobby Leopold of Wannamoisett (2009, 2014), Kevin Silva of Montaup Country Club (2015), and Andrew O’Leary of Pawtucket (2019).

Leave a Reply